Officially named Republic of Peru is a country in western South America. It is bordered by Ecuador and Colombia on the north, by Brazil on the east, by Bolivia on the southeast, by Chile on the south and by the Pacific Ocean on the west.


Peruvian geography changes from the arid plains of the Pacific coast to the peaks of the Andes Mountains and the tropical forests of the Amazon Basin.


Estimated at 29.5 million, the Peruvian population is multiethnic. It includes Amerindians, Europeans, Africans, and Asians. As a result, this mixture of cultural traditions has brought a wide diversity of expressions in fields like the art, cuisine, literature and music.

With a growing population of more than 9’000,000 people, Lima is the business center of Peru. Arequipa, Trujillo, Huancayo, Piura and Cuzco are other important cities for business too.


The Spanish language is broadly spoken but Quechua and Aymara are also official languages.

Economical activities

Peru is a developing country with a high Human Development Index and a poverty level of approximately 31%. Its main economic activities are agriculture, fishing, mining, and manufacturing products such as textiles.


Peru is a presidential representative democratic republic with a multi-party system. Under the current constitution, the President is the head of state and government. He or she is elected for five years and can only seek re-election after standing down for at least one full term.


The official currency in Peru is Nuevo Sol (S/.) which represents one hundred cents.